IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements

Last post 17 hours, 8 minutes ago by efg. 6 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 3:24 PM

    Hello all,

    I am trying to run a backup copy using a proxy for an oracle environment.

    I was abl to test it with a test DB that had a small sga.

    BUT, not I am running for a prodution DB that has a lot of memory. My proxy servir does not have sufficient memory to run the oracle proxy instance with the same amount of memory.

    So, is there anyway to run the oracle proxy intance with less memory that the source DB intance?

    If it is not possible (use less memory), to use a proxy for this operation is inviable since I will need to have HW resources duplicated.

     

    Kind regards,

    Elson

  • Re: IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 4:24 PM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 08-14-2018, 2:39 PM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,537

    When you configure the proxy, after copying the init file over from the source, adjust the memory settings to match what you have on the proxy server.  It should use those settings. 

    If you are not looking to run incremental backups, you can also pick the option to use the File System iDA for the backup copy.   Of course only full backup will be supported, but you would not need to have Oracle installed on the proxy for that to work, and if you use deduplication, your over all storage/media consumption should not be that bad.

    One last option would be to use the block level (volume copy) option.  This uses our new block level backup mechanism (Which also does not use RMAN) but it does allow for incremental as well as enable the ability to run synthetic full backup.  This also enables the ability to perform instant clone from the block level backup (without the need for hardware snapshot)

    All these options can be found in the documentation for Oracle/Intellisnap under advanced configuration:

    Oracle IntelliSnap - Backup Copy

    Configuring Proxy Clients for Backup Copy Operations

    Let us know iff this helps.


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
  • Re: IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 4:54 PM

    Dear Ernst,

     

    Thank you for the information. The issue is that we are doing that - copying the init file and adjuting the memory setting for the proxy instance. BUT, when the backup job runs, it is picking the original init file from the snapshots and using it instead of the one that we created. Have you ever seen this?

     

    Best wishes,

    Elson

  • Re: IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 6:15 PM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 08-14-2018, 2:39 PM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,537

    Hmm...  are you using a "pfile" or "spfile" with this database?  If you have a "pfile" make sure that there is no additional "spfile" in the dbs directory or Oracle will ignore the pfile and use the spfile.  If that is not the problem here, then I would recommend getting a support ticket opened.  There may be an additional setting similar to the one used for the auxiliary instance for table restore, but as far as I know that setting is only for the auxiliary used for table restore. (See "sSGATARGET" in advanced settings)

    Let us know if this helps... If you wind up getting a support ticket opened, please share the resolution here as well as it may help others.  Smile


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
  • Re: IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements
    Posted: 08-13-2018, 1:35 PM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 08-14-2018, 2:39 PM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,537

    Hi Elson,

    I did a little "digging" on this and found that there is a setting you can create on the proxy (In additional settings) to prevent the "custom" Pfile from getting ignored.  Here are the setting details:

    http://documentation.commvault.com/additionalsetting/details?name=%22%3COracleSID%3E_sSKIPSPFILEFORBACKUPCOPY%22&id=1101

    The actual setting is <SID>_sSKIPSPFILEFORBACKUPCOPY and it gets set on the proxy.  Replace <SID> with the actual ORACLE_SID of the instance configured in Commvault.  This is Case sensitive. Be sure to remove ANY SPFiles on the proxy for this instance to make sure that the custom init file gets used.  I checked the documentation for more details on this and there is not much, so let us know if this fixes your situation, and if it does I will create a "change request" to get some more details added to the documentation surrounding this setting.  Hopefully this will help others that also need custom settings on their proxy for backup copy jobs.

    Let us know as soon as you can test/validate this.

    Thanks!


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
  • Re: IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements
    Posted: 08-13-2018, 3:23 PM

    Dear Ernst,

    Yes you are right!!!

    I even opened a support ticket and they asked me to do the same (sSKIPSPFILEFORBACKUPCOPY). I specified it to SID_sSKIPSPFILEFORBACKUPCOPY and set its value to "Y".

    Then I make sure that in the proxies init path there was only one init.ora file named initSID.ora.

    Backup copy is now running!

    Thank you very much for your help!

    Regards,

    Elson.

  • Re: IntelliSnap Backup Copy (snap to tape) - Oracle Proxy Memory Requirements
    Posted: 17 hours, 8 minutes ago
    • efg is not online. Last active: 08-14-2018, 2:39 PM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,537

    Glad to hear it worked for you!   I have also created a doc MR to get this setting added to the section for configuring backup copy proxies.  This way others won't have to search for an answer. Smile


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
The content of the forums, threads and posts reflects the thoughts and opinions of each author, and does not represent the thoughts, opinions, plans or strategies of Commvault Systems, Inc. ("Commvault") and Commvault undertakes no obligation to update, correct or modify any statements made in this forum. Any and all third party links, statements, comments, or feedback posted to, or otherwise provided by this forum, thread or post are not affiliated with, nor endorsed by, Commvault.
Commvault, Commvault and logo, the “CV” logo, Commvault Systems, Solving Forward, SIM, Singular Information Management, Simpana, Commvault Galaxy, Unified Data Management, QiNetix, Quick Recovery, QR, CommNet, GridStor, Vault Tracker, InnerVault, QuickSnap, QSnap, Recovery Director, CommServe, CommCell, SnapProtect, ROMS, and CommValue, are trademarks or registered trademarks of Commvault Systems, Inc. All other third party brands, products, service names, trademarks, or registered service marks are the property of and used to identify the products or services of their respective owners. All specifications are subject to change without notice.
Close
Copyright © 2018 Commvault | All Rights Reserved. | Legal | Privacy Policy