CommVault Forums

Solving Forward - Solving Together
Welcome to CommVault Forums Sign in | Join | Help
in

Backing up Oracle

Last post 03-06-2013, 10:07 PM by efg. 8 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Backing up Oracle
    Posted: 02-05-2013, 11:21 AM

Hi guys,

I am trying to backup an Oracle database as part of E*Trade's Equity Edge software. When attempting to review the properties of the subclient, I am getting an error "Database view cannot be displayed. Please check if database is mounted".  I have attempted to check the status of Oracle under the General tab, and get an "Unknown" status. I have made myself a DBA account, I've configured the "Impersonate NT User" with my credentials and still no dice.

I'm fairly new to Commvault and very new to backing up Oracle.  I have screen shots if needed. 

Any help is appreciated

Brandon Carder
    Vistaprint
  • Re: Backing up Oracle
    Posted: 02-05-2013, 3:58 PM

Hello BCarder,

For starters it looks like your oracle home is incorrect it should end at the version number 10.XXX not db_1

Posted: 02-11-2013, 7:58 AM

ORACLE HOME box should have the Oracle application install path.

When Installing Oracle iDataAgent make, sure that Simpana is installed with appropriate group that is part of the Oracle user account, or any other account with permissions set to read-write-execute.

User Account with administrative privileges to access the Oracle application.

On Unix clients, the user should be part of the user group assigned during the iDataAgent install. You can also use the operating system user account to verify the rights to perform all backup and restore operations for the associated Oracle instance.

On Windows clients, the user should be part of local administrator group and also part of the ora_dba group with read/write permissions on  Simpana folder. You can use the Impersonate user account to verify the rights to perform all backup and restore operations for the associated Oracle instance.