Tape Drive Serial # madness

Last post 11-11-2010, 7:31 AM by mort. 5 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tape Drive Serial # madness
    Posted: 11-09-2010, 2:32 PM

I have 4 IBM 3592 E05 drives that I've been using with my commvault system for 3 years now.  They're fiber attached to the SAN switched and zoned (in pairs) to my media agents who share them.

Now, I have 2 drives that are acting up on me.  One drive says

While accessing a drive the Serial Number obtained [000007874174] is different from expected Serial Number [0000078F3334].

The F3334 is the actual Ser# on the drive, and 74174 is from another drive I have (which still works).

The way my drives look now is (and this matches their physical layout in the tape library).

Drive 1 - 78F3334  - Unusable due to error I posted above

Drive 2 - 7874513 - Fully Accessible

Drive 3 - 7874173 - Unusable due to error listed as " SCSI-2 Reservation Command to the Drive failed"

Drive 4 - 7874174 - Fully Accessible

I've tried rebooting my media agents.  Is this an issue with IBM?  Possibly a zoning change on the SAN?

• Re: Tape Drive Serial # madness
    Posted: 11-09-2010, 2:52 PM

Good afternoon,

For that serial number issue, you would want to redetect the library via the Library & Drive config in control panel.   This can happen any time the OS is rebooted and there has been any change to the drivers or firmware etc. It can happen for no real reason if for some reason the OS redetects the device.

JW

Posted: 11-09-2010, 2:57 PM

This seemed to help drive #1 indirectly (it detected 3 more controllers), but the drive info stayed the same.

Drive 3 is still messed up.  May need to get IBM in on that one.

Posted: 11-09-2010, 3:05 PM

Billis,

Thanks for the update.  I would recommend engaging IBM on that issue with Drive 3.

JW

Posted: 11-10-2010, 11:28 AM