Recover Deleted Client

Last post 11-16-2010, 7:22 AM by Stephen Connington. 12 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Recover Deleted Client
    Posted: 11-15-2010, 9:28 AM

Hi guys,

This is my first time in this forum, so please go easy on me. We had an issue with a file server that was backing up and archiving through commvault. The server is now redundant and all the data has been moved onto a new server which is running OK. I de-configured the old server and deleted the client from the commcell console. Big mistake... I have now lost all the archiving; which was set to archive anything over 4 years old. Is there a way of me restoring the client so that I can see all the jobs it has created so that I can try and restore archived data from tape before the archive took place. We are currently running Simpana 8.

Heres hoping

Paul

• Re: Recover Deleted Client
    Posted: 11-15-2010, 9:48 AM

Paul,

Was this done just now?

You have two options, one is to do a DR restore to bring your comcell back to before you deleted the client. (ie latest DR backup) You would lose any backup\archive data that occurred after that point on all machines as it would revert you to that point in time.

Second you can do a merge of the deleted client from the old DB to the current DB but that would require a special license to be purchased that you most likely do not have. It is also a very specific process that needs to be done to do that. Information on it here: http://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/release_8_0_0/books_online_1/english_us/features/cc_migration/cc_migration.htm

Posted: 11-15-2010, 9:51 AM

Hi Bill,

thanks for your reply. this was done at 11:50am today.. (roughly 3 hours ago). I have never done a DR restore, Im guessing its fairly straight forward; but it does sound a little scary.. do you know if there is a document on this to assist me.

Many thanks for your time and knowledge.

Paul

Posted: 11-15-2010, 9:56 AM

Hello Paul,