Cloud Restore in DR Scenario

Last post 05-17-2018, 10:03 AM by Jason@31Comp. 4 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Cloud Restore in DR Scenario
    Posted: 05-16-2018, 8:11 AM

Hello everyone.  I'm new to CommVault and was hoping someone more experienced could answer a few questions.  

My environment consists of a single AHV cluster supporting 10 VMs.  I'm using CommVault to backup the VMs to a disk storage with an aux copy to the cloud (Azure).  

In a DR where I lose my entire datacenter, do I actually need the DDB or CommVault DR backup to restore from the cloud?

I've been attempting to simulate a recovery by creating a new server, installing a fresh copy of CommVault, then adding the cloud storage.  When I attempt to browse the cloud storage it says it is empty.  I've read over the DR and Media Recovery doc but haven't been able to determine exactly what I need to do.

I've also attempted to use the CommVault DR backup and restore that on the new server.  After the restore, all of the configuration appears like my it does in the source server but I still am unable to browse the cloud storage.  

Am I going down the correct path or is there something I'm missing?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Jason

• Re: Cloud Restore in DR Scenario
    Posted: 05-16-2018, 10:18 AM

Hi Jason,

No the DDB is not needed for restores, the needed references for restores are in place on the disklibrary.

A DR backup is needed if your Commserve is down as well, you need to rebuild OS for the Commserve VM, install Commvault with same SP/patch level, restore the DR and then you can perform the restore.
    You might want to install a DR Commserve to prevent a rebuild of the VM, then you can just power up and restore the DR or you can configure more automated DR constructions so you are good to go when all goes down on the primary site.

http://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/v11/article?p=43510.htm