IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy

Last post 08-10-2018, 5:55 PM by efg. 8 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 06-04-2018, 10:43 AM

    Hi,

    I would like to know if it is mandatory to have a proxy to run backup copies (to tape) for a Oracle RAC DB.

    My question comes in place because the documentation is not clear about this requirement.

    If I use the same server (production) to run the backup copy, would it manage to handle the original ASM instance and the copy of it that will go to tape? Wouldn't it be confused by disk groups having the same name (prodution / copy)?

    Does it gets fixed with the registry "sRMANDATAFILECOPY"? Even in the production server?

    Kind regards,

    Pedro Rocha

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 06-04-2018, 10:59 AM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 10-15-2018, 9:54 AM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,553

    It is not mandatory to use a proxy for RAC backup copy.  Just be aware that by not using a proxy, you will be limited to only running FULL backup copies, because in order to mount the snap back to the source, the ASM DG name will have to be changed to a temporary name in order to mount it back to the source without getting a conflict (already in use) error.  This being the case, the backup copy can then only run a FULL data file copy on the mounted snapshot.   If a proxy is used and, as long as the source DG name does NOT exist on the proxy, then the backup copy process can actually START the instance into a MOUNTED state and run RMAN incremental backup for the backup copy (thus saving storage on the copy medium).  If the DG name already exists on the proxy then an additional setting needs to be configured to run the same process as if running without a proxy.  It also requires the use of a catalog server in order to keep track of the incremental level backups.

    A full list of requirements and prerequisites can be found here: Configuring RMAN Backup Copy for IntelliSnap Operations


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 06-04-2018, 11:06 AM

    Dear Ernst,

    Thank you so much for the fast reply!

    Does that ASM DG name change happens automatically or is there any need for intervetion?

    So not using the proxy would just be as if all DB files were copied manually to another medium without much intelligence? Does this way (w/o proxy) limit my restore options?

    Kind regards,

    Pedro Rocha

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 06-04-2018, 11:20 AM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 10-15-2018, 9:54 AM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,553

    Hi Pedro,

    If not using a proxy, the name change happens automatically.   When using a proxy, if the DG name already exists on the proxy, the backup will get an error (requiring the additional setting).

    From a recovery perspective, RMAN will be restoring from datafile backup copies, rather than an RMAN backup piece_handles, but that does not impact the restore capability (from the backup copy).  I think the main advantage for using a proxy is that the backup copy can then be Full + Incremental and would save on backup storage (as well as time if BCT is used).


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 06-04-2018, 11:32 AM

    Dear Ernst,

    I really appreciate your help. I guess everything is clear now.

    Best wishes,

    Pedro Rocha.

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 4:01 PM

    Hello Ernst,

    Another doubt cam out and maybe you could help me.

    When not using a proxy server for backup copies, the backed up data (inside the snap) is mounted on the source DB server (production server) and the DG name is automatically changed to avoid conflicts. Right?

    Then, RMAN is used to copy contents to tape. Is that right? With that in mind, after the backed up DG is mounted from the snapshot, is there any temporary instance creation (on the production server)? 

    Kind regards,

    Pedro Rocha

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 4:36 PM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 10-15-2018, 9:54 AM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,553

    Hi Pedro,

    The answer to your first question is yes...  The agent creates a random DG name in order to mount the snap back to the node in the RAC where the RMAN session is running.  It then "catalogs" the datafiles from this temporary DG as backup file copies of the database.  Then the agent runs a backup of the file copies to the SBT channel (which of course sends the data to the MediaAgent).  Since these are RMAN backup file copies you can only run FULL backups of these files. 

    In answer to your second question, there is no "temporary" instance created, as RMAN connects to the source DB to run the backup file copy. So there is no need to create or delete a temporary instance.

    After the backup is complete, the files are removed from the catalog, the snap gets unmounted, and the DG gets deleted. 

    Let us know if this helps.


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 4:45 PM

    Hi!!

    Thank you so much for the prompt the answer!

    Just to make things even clear to me: this temporary DG it attached to the source DB instance in order to get backed up? Or it is just attached to some other temporary structure?

    Kind regards,

    Pedro Rocha

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC/ASM - Backup Copy Proxy
    Posted: 08-10-2018, 5:55 PM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 10-15-2018, 9:54 AM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,553

    Hi Pedro,

    Correct.  The RMAN session connects back to the source DB. The agent "knows" how to connect to ASM, and creates a temporary DG where it mounts the snap.  After the snap is mounted, the agent runs a "catalog" command so that the instance "sees" the backup file copies in the mounted DG/snap.  An RMAN backup is then run to create a backup from the files in the mounted DG.

    Regards,

    Ernie


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
The content of the forums, threads and posts reflects the thoughts and opinions of each author, and does not represent the thoughts, opinions, plans or strategies of Commvault Systems, Inc. ("Commvault") and Commvault undertakes no obligation to update, correct or modify any statements made in this forum. Any and all third party links, statements, comments, or feedback posted to, or otherwise provided by this forum, thread or post are not affiliated with, nor endorsed by, Commvault.
Commvault, Commvault and logo, the “CV” logo, Commvault Systems, Solving Forward, SIM, Singular Information Management, Simpana, Commvault Galaxy, Unified Data Management, QiNetix, Quick Recovery, QR, CommNet, GridStor, Vault Tracker, InnerVault, QuickSnap, QSnap, Recovery Director, CommServe, CommCell, SnapProtect, ROMS, and CommValue, are trademarks or registered trademarks of Commvault Systems, Inc. All other third party brands, products, service names, trademarks, or registered service marks are the property of and used to identify the products or services of their respective owners. All specifications are subject to change without notice.
Close
Copyright © 2018 Commvault | All Rights Reserved. | Legal | Privacy Policy