IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC Restore stops with ContentStore rename operation

Last post 06-14-2018, 11:04 AM by Sunil Telagamsetti. 5 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC Restore stops with ContentStore rename operation
    Posted: 06-13-2018, 11:58 AM

    Hello All!

    I am trying to restore one table for a Oracle RAC db (11.2 on Unix).

    Backup runs fine, with no errors, but the following message appears:

    ORACLE_SID Specified in GUI [inteli1] and actual ORACLE_SID [inteli2] differ. Offline Backup with Lights-out script may not be successful.

     

    I understand that something in my configuration is causing this since I have:

    - 2 rack nodes (node1 and node2)

    - 1 racdb named inteli

    - 1 instance of inteli on each RAC node (inteli1 and inteli2)

     

    But, I was not very concerned because I am not testing offline backups. So I proceed with the table restore test. 

     

    During the restore, the job became pending with the following message:

    Oracle Instance Name specified in ContentStore [inteli1] and  connected Oracle Instance [inteli2] are different. Please rename the instance in ContentStore to match with Connected Oracle Instance.

     

    So, I have three questions:

     1 - Should I proceed with that rename in the ContentStore? How? (I understand this as a workaround)

     2 - What could be wrong in my config that causes that?

     3 - What should be done in order for the backup/restore operations to deal with RAC DBs with multiple instances (apparently this is the issue)?

     

    Kind regards,

    Pedro Rocha

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC Restore stops with ContentStore rename operation
    Posted: 06-14-2018, 10:19 AM

    Hello,

    sounds like CommVault configuration is not aware that it is a RAC. Have you configured it via New Client\Application\Oracle RAC? If not I would recommend to reconfigure it in this way.

    Regards

    Michal

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC Restore stops with ContentStore rename operation
    Posted: 06-14-2018, 10:25 AM

    Hello!

    Yes I did. It is configured as an Oracle RAC client. There is one instance inteli, and inside it I registered both inteli1 (node1) and inteli2 (node2).

    Regards,

    Pedro Rocha.

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC Restore stops with ContentStore rename operation
    Posted: 06-14-2018, 10:29 AM

    Hello,

    I think I solved the issue. But if someone could validade it, I would be glad.

    My connect string for both intances (inteli1 and inteli2) as folows:

    <user>/<password>@inteli

    I changed that to:

    On inteli1: <user>/<password>@node1-vip/inteli 

    On inteli2: <user>/<password>@node2-vip/inteli

    I don't know if this is right. But after that, I don't get the first message during backup (abou offline backup and lights-out script).

    And during the restore, I am putting the instance (inteli1 or inteli2) from where the backup was taken on the top of the stream list.

    Regards,

    Pedro Rocha.

  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC Restore stops with ContentStore rename operation
    Posted: 06-14-2018, 11:01 AM
    • efg is not online. Last active: 06-19-2018, 2:57 PM efg
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 02-02-2010
    • CommVault Tinton Falls NJ
    • Expert
    • Points 1,483

    That sounds about right.  When configuring RAC in Commvault you need to have a "dedicated" connect string that will force the connection to the intended node.   That first connect string you used could potentially connect to either node at random, or based on load balancing in the listener, so you had a 50/50 chance that the rman process would connect to the appropriate node for the restore.   The second set of connect strings you used are now pointing to the specific node which makes rman connect to the intended node consistently.   You could also configure dedicated TNS connections which would look something like this:

    for inteli1:  <user>/<password>@inteli1

    for inteli2:  <user>/<password>@inteli2

    Note that the service name matches the instance name.  This requires that the appropriate configuration exists in "tnsnames.ora" config file.


    Ernst F. Graeler
    Product Specialist
    Applications and File Systems
  • Re: IntelliSnap - Oracle RAC Restore stops with ContentStore rename operation
    Posted: 06-14-2018, 11:04 AM

    Pedro,

    You are right. You need to use the SID on each node to configure RAC instance.

    Ex:

    Your DB name is SID and instances are SID1 and SID2 on RAC nodes.

    We should configure the connect strings like this.

    user/pwd@SID1

    user/pwd@SID2

     

    You can refer to the below documentation link for more details.

    http://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/v11/article?p=20909.htm#o20911

     

    Thanks,

    Sunil-

The content of the forums, threads and posts reflects the thoughts and opinions of each author, and does not represent the thoughts, opinions, plans or strategies of Commvault Systems, Inc. ("Commvault") and Commvault undertakes no obligation to update, correct or modify any statements made in this forum. Any and all third party links, statements, comments, or feedback posted to, or otherwise provided by this forum, thread or post are not affiliated with, nor endorsed by, Commvault.
Commvault, Commvault and logo, the “CV” logo, Commvault Systems, Solving Forward, SIM, Singular Information Management, Simpana, Commvault Galaxy, Unified Data Management, QiNetix, Quick Recovery, QR, CommNet, GridStor, Vault Tracker, InnerVault, QuickSnap, QSnap, Recovery Director, CommServe, CommCell, SnapProtect, ROMS, and CommValue, are trademarks or registered trademarks of Commvault Systems, Inc. All other third party brands, products, service names, trademarks, or registered service marks are the property of and used to identify the products or services of their respective owners. All specifications are subject to change without notice.
Close
Copyright © 2018 Commvault | All Rights Reserved. | Legal | Privacy Policy