Conecptual Issue in releasing a temporary disk library

Last post 06-29-2019, 10:15 AM by karthik. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Conecptual Issue in releasing a temporary disk library
    Posted: 06-28-2019, 6:59 PM
    • Egg is not online. Last active: 09-20-2019, 4:22 PM Egg
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-15-2019
    • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    • Newcomer
    • Points 15
    Commvault v11 SP13+
    Data Domain as Major repo.

A few days ago we had an issue with our Data Domain and decided to add a data path connecting
    the Commvault to a Disk Storage temporarily since the backups were failing. 
    It was a disk library with 5 Mount Paths, each of them with 15 TB. 

As a new Commvault admin, I would like to know if this was the correct procedure and 
    what kind of actions should be taken when things like that happen. 

First, I suspended all the pending jobs. 
    Second, I added a new data path. (Properties of Primary Copy (Storage Policy) > Data Paths > Add). 
    The Disk Library was already added. No more actions were required. 
    Commvault started using the new disk library for new backup jobs. 

When I fixed the issue with the Data Domain, the Commvault started using it automatically. 
    Now, I think that Commvault is balancing between the Data Paths 
    (Round-Robin between Data Paths checked). 

1. What can be done to release the disk library?
    2. Is it enough to uncheck the corresponding checkbox (Data Paths tab) "Enabled" to the disk library?
    3. Is there a way to move the data stored there to the Data Domain?
    I don't want to create additional "Storage Units" on Data Domain and 
    present them to Commvault as Mount Paths. Today we have just one mount path on Data Domain. 

I was reading the documentation and realized that 
    I can't move a mount path to anothe active mount path.

Braga, Eduardo
    Backup Administrator
  • Re: Conecptual Issue in releasing a temporary disk library
    Posted: 06-28-2019, 10:22 PM