Enabling Archive Mode in PostgreSQL 9.3.8 for a Full VM backup

Last post 09-16-2019, 2:10 PM by sravanthi. 6 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Enabling Archive Mode in PostgreSQL 9.3.8 for a Full VM backup
    Posted: 09-08-2019, 9:58 AM
    Since the vendor for this application is no lonber reachable, we wanted to ensure that there is at least a Full VM backup on it.

This VM is very light since it is mainly used for digital signage. there is not much change going on as images are changed very few times in a month or week.

CommVault Support suggested that Archive Mode be turned on in order for a VM backup to work.

Is there a previous thread or a step by step guide on how to enable this in PostgreSQL?

I have no knowledge of PostgreSQL so I figured I ask you guys here.

Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard
    PostgreSQL 9.3.8
     Is there a required disk partition for it as well?

Appreciate all the help and thanks in advance.

Roni

• Re: Enabling Archive Mode in PostgreSQL 9.3.8 for a Full VM backup
    Posted: 09-10-2019, 11:55 AM

Hi Roni,

Can we get some clarity on what exactly you are looking for here?

If you want to backup Postgres server, you need have postgresql iDA installed on your client.

We support dumpbased backups and fsbased backups for postgreSQL server.

You need to enable archive mode on postgreSQL server only if you are performing FSBased Backups.

Steps to configure archive log directory is documented here: https://documentation.commvault.com/commvault/v11_sp16/article?p=21518.htm

Thanks,

Ganesh Kishan

Posted: 09-11-2019, 2:31 AM

Hi Ganesh,

This server is a VM running on a Windows Server OS

but the database for the application is PostgreSQL.

We just want a simple backup of the entire VM

in cases where it no longer boots or etc,

we can simply restore the entire VM and have the it backu in no time.

Now I contacted support and they said archive mode is turned on

in PostgreSQL and I need to turn it on with the help of the vendor