Microsoft Clustring Server - File System Agent

Last post 11-30-2019, 7:53 PM by Liam. 3 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Microsoft Clustring Server - File System Agent
    Posted: 11-30-2019, 6:20 PM

Hi All,
    Need you help in installing a Windows file system agent in my test lab on Microsoft cluster server.
    So I wanted to start and look into Microsoft cluster server and check how it's working with commvault agents.
    I'm new to Microsoft clustering so bear with me.
    So the lab I set up is:
    2 VM, each with C and D drive:
    CV-Test01 (Windows Server 2016)
    CV-Test02 (Windows Server 2016)
    so I installed failover clustering feature in each server\"Node" and configured the cluster on one of them.

The cluster name is: CV-Test

I installed commvault file system core+file system in each VM under disk C:\.

The end goal is to backup disk D and that it need to be shared between VM, so let's say I put "test.txt" in disk D in CV-Test01, it's need to replicate also to CV-Test02.

On top of this, I want the commvault file system agent to backup disk D in a windows cluster client from the active node.

So let's say I started to backup test.txt file in CV-Test01 and shutdown the server (purposely), the backup should continue to backup the file from CV-Test02.

Would really appreciate your help with this as I can't rep my around it.

thank you.

• Re: Microsoft Clustring Server - File System Agent
    Posted: 11-30-2019, 6:54 PM
    • Aplynx is not online. Last active: 12-12-2019, 11:31 AM Liam
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 05-04-2010
    • New Jersey
    • Master
    • Points 1,777

Sounds like you have it set up right. WHen node 1 goes down, expect a loss of control error in the CV console for the backup job. In the cluster manager you should see the GxPlugin service shift over to the now active node with the clustered object. When the job retries it should pick up where it left off. 

Posted: 11-30-2019, 7:46 PM

Aplynx: